Details

Case Type: /
Severity: Level 3
Product: /
Component: /
Environment: /
Internal Discussion Link: /

Description

I was asked by some users to explain the differnce between spaces, groups, and projects.  As a neophyte, I started diigging through the docs, but found no real clear definition of how/when to choose one over the other.  Can you point me to a reference for same, or can you explain to me in laymens terms clearspace's conceptual utilization of these features?  I am stuck with the folder paradigm as my only model, and I think that limits my ability to understand.

v/r

sb

Comments

Hi Scott,

I am also new to Clearspace, so hopefully I'll be able to answer your question from a perspective you can relate to .

Spaces are the closest thing to the hierarchical/folder paradigm we're all accustomed to. Typically, an organization will model their Spaces based on their "traditional" hierarchy, i.e. functional groups like Sales, Marketing, Engineering, Human Resources, etc. The idea is that while users may occasionally have cross-functional needs that require them to visit a variety of spaces, they will generally spend most of their time and energy in the space dedicated to their functional area. In this way a community administrator can set up Clearspace to model the functional and logical divisions most users will expect. Users do not necessarily belong to a specific Space, but you may want to configure their permissions based on their role within the organization.